Round 2

Writers Write

Trying This Again.

on March 3, 2014

Hi everyone. Or anyone. Or just me.

I know, I know…I cancelled my blog a couple months ago. Yep. Just tossed it out like greasy KFC containers in yesterday’s trash. I get it. I gave up. Life happened and it sucked. I got mad. I got scared. And I shut down. Guess what? It happens. Round two.

Life’s no better today than it was the day I deleted my last blog. In fact, things have gotten worse. A lot’s happened in the past couple months, but I’ve made a decision to start anew, fresh..focus on finding something daily to make me smile.

Sure, that’s going to be tough. Money’s at an all-time low. My son’s moving 650 miles away next month. Stress is so thick and heavy most days that I can barely breath…but there’s always that glimmer of hope that sparks an idea, or just forces my moods to lift for awhile.

I finished draft 1 of my novel at the end of January. That was a huge accomplishment for me. It’s only the first draft, true, and I have a lot more to deal with there. But I’ve never written an entire novel. Sure, I’ve taken loads of notes, organized binders worth of research, created new worlds in my head and outlined a few generations worth of sub plots. But finished a first draft of an entire story? Never. Short stories, poems…absolutely. Novels? Nope. The first draft completion was major and I’m still ecstatic over that..until hub asks “so when will it be published?” or “so, you’re working on book two now, right?” And he asks those things all the time.

But this time, my blog is not about my husband..or my kid, or the pets (or at least not directly), or the countless things that tick me off and keep me emotionally unstable from day-to-day. This blog is about the things that force me to smile. If something kicks me in the shin and reminds me I’m still alive and worthy in this blasted world, it will likely be posted here. In some form..and hopefully with limited rambling. But those who know me realize that’s inevitable. I can still try.

Today’s goals:

Write, read, try to keep breathing, and maybe attempt to catch up on some of the blog posts I missed while taking my “break”.

8 responses to “Trying This Again.

  1. A.C. Jaiden says:

    The Cookie will now stalk you and see what you’re up to.

  2. mrs fringe says:

    “This blog is about the things that force me to smile.” So you’ll be writing about me, then? 😉

    Congrats on the first draft, it is a huge accomplishment! I hope this round/blog does what you need it to do for you as you work through the yuck of messy, hard life.

  3. swachski says:

    *nibbles tricky fingers..*

Leave a Reply

